Sunday, August 3, 2014

Mix Tape 051

Camille Howard circa 1949

 It’s been a while think I thanked all the downloaders, particularly the ones who comment, thank you thank you.  You give me the energy to carry on. I’d also like to welcome back an old friend, Yankeeboy, who was the first to welcome me on the blogosphere some years back.  He’s over at  See below for scan credits.  Enjoy!

1. “Coming Around” - The Above - from their new LP “Waterbury Street” - contributed by Shawn

2. “The Homecoming Queen’s Got a Gun” - Julie Brown - from “Trapped in the Body of a White Girl” 1987

3. “Dark are the Shadows” - The Neumans - from their brand new self-titled LP, contributed by Shawn

4. “And Your Dream Comes True” - The Beach Boys - from “Summer Days (And Summer Nights!), 1965

5. “Drive Car Girl” - Beat Happening - from “Jamboree,” 1988

6. “You’re Wrong” - Electric Company - recorded in 1966 and went unreleased, from the compilation “Scary Business”

7. “Friends Not Enemies”” - Judah Walker - from the compilation “Intimate Lovers V1”

8. “Air-Conditioned Man” - Thurdsdays Children - IA, 1966

9. “I Said I Love Her” - The Cavestomers! - from the brand new LP, “Stompede”

10. “Kee-Mo-Sabe” - Sonny Oliver & the Statics - Vardan, 1965

11. “Suddenly Sunday” - Marshmallow Overcoat - Get Hip, 1988

12. “Summer All Year Long” - Sugarplum - from “Blue Summer Days,” 1997, contributed by Boss Logan

13. “That I Love You” - Paul (Guitar Red)Johnson with Kenneth Wells & Band - from “Northern Soul Collector V3”

14. “Key to My Heart” - Tony & the Twilighters - that’s Tony Maresco, Red Top, 196?

15. “You’ve Never Loved Before” - Matthew Moore Plus Four - White Whale, 1965

16. “Souvenir of California” - Flash Cadillac & the Continentals - from the compilation “25 Years” cd

17. “The Girl’s Alright With Me” - Joe Simon - Sound Stage, 1969 

18. “Things to Come” - Menn - Mod, 1967

19. “You’ve Got a Bomb” - The Cyclone III - Philips, 1965

20. “Summer of Last Year” - The Pyramid - Deram, 1967, contributed by Boss Logan

21. “Back to You” - Palmyra Dean - from “You Are What You Absorb” 2013

22. “Never Found a Girl” - Alex Children - from “Set” 2000

23. “Them Belly Full (But We Hungry)” - Bob Marley & the Wailers - from “Natty Dread” 1974

24. “Fiesta in Old Mexico” - Camille Howard - Specialty, 1949

25. “Dead Man’s Curve” - Jan & Dean - written by Brian Wilson, Jan Berry & Roger Christian - originally on “Dead Man’s Curve / New Girl in School” 1964

Scan Credits:

“Kee-Mo-Sabe” scan from

Paul (Guitar Red) Johnson scan from

Camille Howard scan from


  1. Great set there Glenn. I played that Above song on my online radio show ( They are one of the best groups on the scene today. And thanks for the mention.

  2. I haven't been commenting like I should and I apologize. I was so happy when I recently discovered 'REborn...' after having followed 'Born...' for so long. Or should I say followed and massively enjoyed 'Born...'? Happily, it's more of the same, exciting wonderfulness here at 'REborn...' Oh, certainly I don't like every single song on each collection, but there's still a pretty darn impressive number of 'yeas' over 'nays.' So thank you, fine sir. I appreciate and enjoy your efforts. Perhaps I'll be more specific about what I've liked and what I haven't in subsequent comments. But, for now, I just wanted to correct my oversight of not patting you on the back. Good job. No, great job!

  3. Thanks for all that you do Glenn.

  4. I just wanted to thank you for the information you provide about the songs in your mixes. It really helps with tagging (short of you doing it for me. [he laughs]) Thanks for what you do. I know it takes a lot of work.

  5. Thank you thank you. The tag info is there. It seems to be a problem with iTunes that it doesn't show up automatically. My solution is using Doug's applescripts - I think it's free but a donation is suggested. Of course, you need iTunes for it to work. There are probably other ways to get the tag info to appear, but this one works fine for me and has been invaluable over the years.

  6. Hello,thank you for all the mixes ! Awesome.
    Link for mix tape 51 doesn't work. Maybe you can take a look at it.

    Thanks again!


  7. Ok, try again. Thanks for the comment.